1. Homestead Exemption

Homestead Exemption (Title 36, M.R.S.A. §681)

The Maine Legislature enacted the Homestead Exemption in 1998, and further amended it effective April 1, 2017.  Property owners would receive an exemption of $25,000 (at 100% assessment ratio).

Taxpayer Eligibility:

  • Must be a permanent resident of the State of Maine.
  • Have owned a homestead in Maine for at least 12 months as of April 1.
  • Declare the homestead, for which you are claiming exemption, is your permanent residence and you are not claiming homestead for any other property.

Proof of Residency (1 or more):

  • File Maine resident income tax return
  • Driver's license
  • Hunting or fishing license
  • Voter registration
  • Motor vehicle excise tax payment

Filing Deadline:

  • April 1 of the first year in which exemption is requested.

How to File:

Completed applications can be submitted by email to assess@brunswickme.org and by mail or in person to the Assessor's Office.

Helpful Links:

*Download the form and open with Adobe Acrobat Pro to electronically complete the form and submit directly to us using the 'Submit Form' button at the top.